You’ve probably heard about the boy who lived, Harry Potter. Maybe you love the series and have reread every book. Maybe you’re hesitant about diving in, finding it silly to focus on wizards and witches. If you are wondering what makes this series so special and beloved by many, here are seven timeless lessons you can learn from reading all seven books, with words of wisdom from the greatest wizard to ever live, Albus Dumbledore.

1. Love

Voldemort may be considered the greatest dark wizard of all time, but he lacks the most powerful weapon: love. Throughout Harry’s adventures as a wizard, he learns that the capacity to love and be loved in return trumps all other magic. In life, it is not power that makes us strong, but love.

“Do not pity the dead, Harry, pity the living, and above all those who live without love.”

2. Loss

Harry’s parents were murdered by Voldemort, forcing him to be raised in a cruel household. This loss left Harry feeling lonely, but he chose to overcome it. Like Harry, everyone will inevitably experience loss. However, with loss comes the ability to appreciate others more and come out a stronger person.

“This pain is part of being human … the fact that you can feel pain like this is your greatest strength.”

3. Loyalty

Throughout the series, loyalties are tested. Witches and wizards alike switch to the dark side, hoping to escape death at the hands of Voldemort. Others remain on the good side, choosing loyalty over betrayal. There will be times in life when someone or some situation will test your loyalty. By not giving into pressure, you remain loyal, not only to others, but to yourself.

“I will only have truly left the school when none here are loyal to me.”

4. Friendship

Raised by wicked relatives, Harry never received kindness. When he enters the wizarding school, Hogwarts, he befriends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. These two friendships stay with Harry for years. It is in the magic of friendships that people can learn from one another and truly grow as individuals.

“Differences of habit and language are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open.”

5. Humor

While the premise may seem dark, the series contains a lot of humor. Characters such as Harry and Ron possess a unique sense of humor that makes readers feel like they could be friends with them in real life. This teaches us not to take everything too seriously, or else we will miss the laughs that life has to offer.

“Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!”

6. Acceptance

To some wizards and witches, muggles (humans with no magical abilities) are deemed worthless. Although she is a witch, Hermione was born to muggle parents. This makes her the object of ridicule and harassment from bullies at school. No harm will be done by an act of acceptance, but an act of rejection will only breed resentment and hatred.

“Understanding is the first step to acceptance, and only with acceptance can there be recovery.”

7. Courage

Many in the wizarding community fear Voldemort so much that they refer to him as “He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.” However, Harry refuses to give into this fear and calls Voldemort by name. This teaches that you should never let fear take over your life.

“It is the unknown we fear when we look upon death and darkness, nothing more.”